The TJBS held its annual membership meeting Tuesday, January 26, to elect officers and Board Members for the coming year. Officers for 2016 are:

President: Teree McCormick

Vice-President: Rahsaan Barber

Secretary: Richard Dinkins

We welcome two new TJBS Board Members: Belmont University faculty member Cheryl Slay Carr and bassist Greg Bryant.

Retained Board Members: Moe Denham, Bettye Otey, Cliff Richmond, Larry Seeman, Jay Slobey, Roy Vogt.

The TJBS will be working hard on its new strategic plan during 2016, with important work to be done by the Membership, Communications, Event, and Education Committees.

All interested persons are invited to join the Tennessee Jazz & Blues Society or renew memberships, serve on committees, and participate in this important work!

We urge you to join or renew your TJBS membership. The membership year runs from June 1, 2016 through May 31, 2017. Those joining from January 1 forward will have their membership carry forward for the entire 2016-17 membership year.

The TJBS is planning many exciting activities, including more performances in the popular “Sessions at Steinway” series as well as other special events during the year.

A new artist membership campaign, “50 x 50” is in the offing and will begin March 1. Stay tuned for details.

You can join or renew your membership online through our website at, or you can download and print the membership form and mail it with your check to:

Tennessee Jazz & Blues Society
P.O. Bo 121293
Nashville, TN 37212-1293